Heritage Crafts Awards

25 April 2024

Deadline: May 24, 2024

The Heritage Crafts Awards are open, supported by the Marsh Charitable Trust. The Awards, which have been running since 2012, celebrate and highlight the traditional living crafts that contribute to British heritage.


  • Heritage Crafts Northern Ireland Maker of the Year Award, (£1,000/£2,000); supported by the Maxwell Hanrahan Foundation, this award will recognise a heritage craftsperson who has made an outstanding contribution to their specific craft within the previous 12 months. This award will recognise a contribution that is far beyond the ordinary, either in pushing their craft to new levels, or contributing to its promotion or continuation in an exceptional way. The Northern Ireland Maker of the Year will receive a £1,000 prize.For the first time, one winner will be selected in each of the four UK nations to each receive a £1,000 prize. A UK winner will then be selected from the four, and their prize will be topped up to £2,000.
  • The Marsh Heritage Crafts Lifetime Achievement Award, (£1,000); to recognise a heritage craftsperson who has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to their specific craft over 25 years or more. Anyone, including the maker themselves, can nominate for this award.
  • Marsh Heritage Crafts Trainer Award, (£1,000); One of Heritage Crafts’ key aims is to ensure that traditional crafts skills of the highest standard are passed from one generation to the next. Broadly classified as ‘trainer’, the award winner could be anything from a teacher, tutor, workshop leader, master or simply a craftsperson who offers one-to-one advice.
  • Marsh Heritage Crafts Trainee Award, (£1,000); broadly classified as ‘trainee’, the award winner could be on a formal apprenticeship scheme, a less formal traineeship, an institution-based course with a high degree of practical training, or even be pursuing ‘portfolio-style’ training comprising of short-courses and workshops, as long as training has formed a significant part of at least twelve months prior to applying.
  • Marsh Heritage Crafts Community Catalyst of the Year Award, (£1,000); In heritage crafts, there are many people who do a tremendous amount on a voluntary basis. Whether independently, or as part of a craft organisation, the award winner could have volunteered their time on anything from event organising to campaigning to initiating new projects in the heritage crafts sector.

Deadline to apply, 5pm Friday 24th May. Anyone, including the maker themselves, can nominate for these awards.


Subscribe to Craft NI Newsletters

Click Here
* indicates required

CRAFT NI will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing. Please let us know all the ways you would like to hear from us:

You can update your preferences or unsubscribe at any time by clicking the link in the footer of any email you receive from us, or by contacting us at info@craftni.org. We will treat your information with respect. For more information about our privacy practices please visit http://www.craftni.org/privacy-policy. By clicking below, you agree that we may process your information in accordance with these terms.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.